Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Avidyne General > IFD 5 Series & IFD 4 Series Touch Screen GPS/NAV/COM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Waypoint as Origin on Flight Plan

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flybuddy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Waypoint as Origin on Flight Plan
    Posted: 25 Jan 2019 at 3:03pm
Hi, I'm a newbie who has just ordered a 440. It'll probably be a few weeks till all items ordered (TruTrak, Aspen E5 and IFD 440) arrive and are installed. In interim I started watching some vids and playing with the simulator app. Having some trouble with one issue. My home airport (FL59) is a private field and not in the sim database. I set up a waypoint and put in the correct lat and long and saved. However, I can't seem to figure out how to insert that waypoint as the origin on a flight plan. Is this just a glitch in the sim software or am I missing something? Are private airports in the real database? thx
AviSteve View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AviSteve Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2019 at 11:34pm
The nav database does contain some private airports.  Generally, if one does not exist, I can get it added within a cycle or two.  I just checked the latest database and it does not contain FL59.  I'll send a request to Jeppesen and maybe it will even be in there before you get your airplane back.  Cross your fingers.

The identifier you enter for an origin must be an airport.  Normally, that's not a huge problem, but I realize that's how you position the aircraft in the trainer app.  Your only choice at this point is to use KRSW as the origin for the trainer.
Steve Lindsley
Avidyne Engineering
DH82FLYER View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie