Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Avidyne General > IFD 5 Series & IFD 4 Series Touch Screen GPS/NAV/COM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

First Time Loading Jeppesen questions

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wpierce Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: First Time Loading Jeppesen questions
    Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 11:21am
Currently I'm a VFR only pilot, I purchased an IFD 550 for my Mooney last year and plan on getting my IFR cert in 2022. I've never loaded the Jeppesen charts and plan on doing this very soon, I have a couple of questions.

1. How long does it take to load all three data bases?
2. Will a trickle charger keep the battery strong enough to complete the upload process? (12 volt M201)
3. Do I need to rent an APU for the day?
4. If I update all three databases does that lock me in to that price point or can I just get a 2 database going forward?

Any thing else I should be asking but don't know what to ask?

Thank you for your guidance.
dmtidler View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dmtidler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 12:55pm