Avidyne Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Avidyne General > IFD 5 Series & IFD 4 Series Touch Screen GPS/NAV/COM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Which Database Package to Buy?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SoCalIFDpilot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Which Database Package to Buy?
    Posted: 22 Aug 2020 at 8:54pm
Hi all -

New IFD540 driver here (installed today). I went to look at the Jepp data, and am not sure what to get. Seeking recommendations.

I'm an IFR student, so I definitely need current Nav data. I can get FAA IFR plates on Foreflight, so I'm sort of on the fence about whether to subscribe to Jepp plates.

Also, what do people do who just sign up for the Nav data? Do they not get terrain and obstacle updates? Or maybe buy them only once per year individually?

With all of the options on Jepp's website, I guess I need some advice on which route to take.

Thanks very much in advance!

Edited by SoCalIFDpilot - 22 Aug 2020 at 9:13pm
HenryM View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HenryM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Aug 2020 at 11:25pm
I have just the US NavData plan for $299.

I don't think the plates display all that well on the IFD540. I prefer them on Foreflight. I am ok with the FAA plates, though I recently got an offer for free Jepp plates. It used to be that Jeppplates were much better than NACO/Airnav plates. However, the government plates have come a long way, and I no longer find Jepp to be the requirement they once were.

I will eventually get a one-time obstacle update. I have an older obstacle database in my unit. Terrain hasn't been updated since 2015, so no sense in paying for that either. 
SoCalIFDpilot View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie